Friday, December 14, 2012

Survey - What to read next?

A recent discussion on Enid Blyton, and how many of us are big fans, reminded me of this one lying in my drafts :).

D is 7 going on 9 reading age ;).. She reads a lot of Enid Blyton, probably because I introduced her to it and she took to it. So now she's done with a lot of the Naughtiest Girl, Faraway Tree, O'clock tales level of books and also all the Secret Sevens and most of the Famous Fives. I've tried nearly every type available in the local library, and now I think we've nearly exhausted the EB options :(. Roald Dahl is the only other author whose children's books I am reasonably confident about and have tried.

Now comes my quandary, I have no idea what could be the other authors that I could pick up for her next! I tried Harry Potter a few months ago, but it was still a bit too much then. In any case if she reads them at her usual pace, she'll be on to the slightly PG level of the later books before she's actually prepared for it.

Now that I have quite a few moms reading the blog (captive audience? ;)), I thought this would be a good place to ask - please give me some ideas! The main thing to keep in mind is her reading level is a little bit higher than many kids her age, but similar to any other reading-crazy kid I guess :).

13 comments:

  1. i've got a bookworm son who devoured the Wimpy Kid series when he was between 7 and 8. I've no idea if this is age-appropriate reading. The other thing he loves is non-fiction. Stuff about dinosaurs etc... has she got a passion like that?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. We have the TimeLife books - bought them when she was 1 :P.. and she's been reading them at last in the last few months - esp. the Knowledge series is really only for older kids.

      Thanks for the Wimpy Kid reco, keep seeing it in the library, will pick it up the next time!

      Delete
  2. Pippi Longstocking.

    And EB's Mallory Towers, St.Claires series.

    Some new Indian authors are good too (apparently!)

    And at that age, I devoured ACKs too. As well as mythology books - kid versions of Ramayana et al. Try it?

    ReplyDelete
  3. Pippi Longstocking.

    St.Claires, Mallory Towers - EB.

    Mythology stuff for beginners - Ramayana, Bible et al?

    And this Wimpy kid series seems to have caught the attention of several 7 yr olds these days.. as well as Geronimo mouse, though am not sure what they are about yet!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks for the recos Sirisha, forgot to mention she already read the school series from EB, her favourites in fact!!

      Ramayana - good idea.. let me look around for a children's version! Bible too we have some versions but I've not encouraged her towards it I guess, will get to it :).

      And Geronimo mouse - wow there's a lot of stuff I haven't even heard of it seems!

      Delete
  4. I havent yet crossed the Suess age :) I will just quitely note down the authors for future reference.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah some good ones coming up here Sirisha :). Thanks for dropping in!

      Delete
  5. 1. Geronimo stilton series.
    2. Horrid Henry series.
    3. Mahabharata - a child's view (by Samhita arni - who was herself only 12 when she wrote the book!)
    4. Check out titles by tara, young zubaan, of course tulika.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Oh so many great sounding options Aparna - thank you :).. And I have become a Tulika fan too, after being introduced to them through your blog!! Finally picked up the Olugutti book at the last event - weirdly feel like I'm enjoying it more than the kids ;).

      Delete
  6. I am not yet there but the Roald Dahl series? He has quite a good ones there.
    A blogger friend Sandhya has a great collection of reviews and book names on her blog here - http://arightowrite.blogspot.ca/
    I shall bookmark this page to check it out in a few years! :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thank you Simran, I'm going to check out that link right now :).

      Delete
  7. ur such a big Enid Blyton buff?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yes very much Aaron :). Most of the EB books I own are the ones I bought after I started working, for my "kids" even before I had them!

      Delete